Reichstag Visit

WHAT A COOL PLACE.

This tour was not at all what I was expecting. When I think of parliament, I think of old men in white wigs in a stuffy building. Our tour guide was so cute and funny; I think she made our tour much more enriching! My favorite thing about the Reichstag was the juxtaposition between new and old. I loved that they kept old parts of the Reichstag. The inscriptions of the Soviet soldiers throughout the building was so cool. There were bullet holes in the columns outside one of the libraries. I also really loved the architecture and the art throughout the building. Everything was thoughtful and purposeful and at the same time, simple and tasteful. There was a lot of symbolism in the design of the building as well as the art installments. The transparent architecture was a reflection of the new “attitude” of the government. I learned a bit about the more technical aspects of parliament and the tour guide shared some of the quirky rules for members with us. I think it would be really interesting to sit in on a session and see how the members of parliament interact (maybe something to do in the future).

Leave a comment