Research Proposal

For my research project, I am interested in comparing healthcare and the welfare state in Germany, Spain, and the United States.

The article on immigrants and the welfare state was really intriguing to me. The immigrants were the population that were hit the hardest by the economic crisis and are now being blamed for taking jobs from Spanish nationals. I want to know how they feel about the support that they are receiving from the state and whether or not they are satisfied with it. The article also made me think of the Turkish residents in Berlin who were losing their subsidized housing due to gentrification. I want to know more about how foreigners are treated by nationals and by the state and what kind of benefits they are eligible to receive, how the systems work (economic models) etc. I find these internal relationships very interesting.

One thought on “Research Proposal

  1. jusobo says:

    I think we are a good match for the research project! I too find the condition of immigrants in Spain especially to be very interesting, and I learned in my Spanish class (very briefly one day) that some immigrants have been very fortunate and are holding some of the best jobs in the area. It would be really interesting to explore that further and do more research on the topic and general. Also, I haven’t learned anything about Germany in the past so I like your reference to the Turkish residents for that part.

Leave a comment